Clarity

I try to control my mind
but sometimes the mind wonders
wonders where would we be
how would we do things differently
how would you look at me
if we shared the same home
if we were both alone

wouldn’t that be a turn of events
if there were less of a mystery to present
because I knew you so well
if I were there to catch you when you fell
what would we be in our moment of clarity
how different would life by if you were with me

what do you see in me when you stare?
is it emptiness, or is something there?
does my sensitivity give a false sense of fragility?
or do you embrace the thought of me?
who led who down this path?
the thought seems to linger
out of many, i’m still a beginner
of all the ones from the past
will I be the first to last?

misled by a strong sense of ambition
or do you also feel that something is missing
when we are apart, when it’s after dark
something constantly fuels my desire
and something about you sets off a spark
my heart’s in flames if ever you say my name
but does it get spoken from your tongue
what if I’m not the one for you?
what am I suppose to do if that is true?
been so full of myself and what I want to be
never considered what if you don’t want me

Leave a Reply

